Our trip to Lilliput Adventure Centre

We arrived at the Lilliput Adventure Centre on a bright Wednesday morning, showered by the sun. We were sorted into our teams and kicked into the bog hopping. In the early stages of this activity we were forced into the bog, but some people didn’t like being told what to do (cough*Sean*/cough), so they were let do whatever they wanted. We got wet, and smelled awful, which is pretty much what we set out to do.

After the event which was the bog hopping, we then proceeded to climb into the kayaks we had prepared prior to getting into the bogs. The water was freezing and we were covered in muck, dirty water and other things I’d rather not think about. I paired off with somebody else, but there was enough room for three. I fell out close enough to the area-limits and was unexpectedly capsized, due to my immature partner climbing out awkwardly. As I got closer to shore, he assaulted me with a lot of water. People pointed and laughed but there was a genuine fear of death.

We also did archery. I was rather confident with my skills after doing shockingly well in the practice, but when it came down to the actual competition I absolutely faltered. I missed both arrows and got a grand total of 0 points, I now know how it feels to be a British Eurovision entrant. As the competition got more heated, we had to redo several matches as we were getting non-stop ties, but in the end it was won with a bullseye, as I suppose all archery should be.

We then proceeded to climb into the kayaks we had prepared prior to getting into the bogs. The water was freezing and we were covered in muck, dirty water and other things I’d rather not think about. I paired off with somebody else, but there was enough room for three. I fell out close enough to the area-limits and was unexpectedly capsized, due to my immature partner climbing out awkwardly. As I got closer to shore, he assaulted me with a lot of water. People pointed and laughed but there was a genuine fear of death.

We didn’t use the map at all during orienteering and were genuinely guided by a dog who knew his way around the adventure centre. The objective was to find 14 numbered destinations hidden all around the premises, and it took us around 40 minutes to complete the whole thing. I think we would have performed better had we used the map instead.

The last thing my group did was the rock-wall climbing. I attempted every side on the mobile cliff, and my hands were in pain at the end. After everybody had a turn, I was allowed to race one of my classmates. I lost due to his size and ability to carry himself up a wall like lightning, although it may have had something to do with his ability to fly. All in all, it was a great experience and if you haven’t, I recommend you visit the Lilliput Adventure Centre ASAP.

Leave a Reply

